Workshop 1: Requirements for Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Fire Science

--- A virtual workshop held November 9-13, 2020 ---

The WIFIRE Commons project has been funded by NSF Convergence Accelerator program to rapidly enable community integration for access to open data, models, and AI tools to address critical needs in wildfire detection, response, and proactive treatments. Our main objective to enable and collaborate around proactive data-driven solutions to wildfire science needs and its application to practice. As a part of this approach, we are hosting virtual workshops for community engagement. 

This first workshop on fire science aims to understand data needs and opportunities of AI to help integrate and assimilate data, provide critical inputs to a wide range of modeling, and support fire response, treatment planning, and fire effects prediction. AI in this context is combined data and model-driven applications for extracting fire-relevant information to improve the quality of fire prediction.

We have invited a diverse group of experts with an understanding in topical areas (fuels, atmosphere, fire effects, fire modeling output needs) that help frame the wildfire problem, treatment prioritization, modeling needs, and areas where AI can create solutions. 

November 9, 2020

Day 1 (Two identical plenary sessions. Please attend one.)

8:00 AM-9:00 AM PST (11:00 AM EST)

Introduction To Fire Modeling, AI, and Overview of WIFIRE Commons - AM

1:00 PM-2:00 PM PST (4:00 PM-5:00 PM EST)

Introduction To Fire Modeling, AI, and Overview of WIFIRE Commons - PM

November 10, 2020

Day 2 (Breakout sessions)

8:00 AM-9:00 AM PDT (11:00 AM EST)

Fuel/Vegetation Inputs and Data Needs For Fire Behavior Modeling #1 - Prescribed Fire Focus (Rx)

10:00 AM-11:00 AM PST (1:00 PM EST)

Atmospheric Inputs For Fire Behavior Modeling #1

1:00 PM-2:00 PM PST (4:00 PM-5:00 PM EST)

Fuel/Vegetation Inputs and Data Needs For Fire Behavior Modeling #2 - Wildfire Focus (WF)

November 12, 2020

Day 3 (Breakout sessions)

8:00 AM-9:00 AM PST (11:00 AM EST)

Model Outputs #1 - Emission, Fire Effects, Decision Support - Prescribed Fire Focus (Rx)

11:00 AM-12:00 PM PST (2:00 PM-3:00 PM EST)

Atmospheric Inputs For Fire Behavior Modeling #2

1:00 PM-2:00 PM PST (4:00 PM-5:00 PM EST)

Model Outputs #2 - Emission, Fire Effects, Decision Support - Wildfire Focus (WF)

November 13, 2020

Day 4

10:00 AM-12:00 PST 

(1:00 PM-3:00 PM EST)

Fire/AI Synthesis Session